Fanart Friday: Enter Queen Gohma

http://zeldauniverse.net/2014/12/26/fanart-friday-enter-queen-gohma/

Although Christmas has passed us by, the memories it left behind have not. As Zelda games tend to release just in time for the holiday season, many of us have grown up receiving the latest Zelda installment as a gift for the holidays.

One of the fondest Christmas memories I have as a child is playing Ocarina of Time 16 years ago — a Christmas present I received from my parents. It was the first time anyone had played Zelda in 3D before, and to put it simply, it took my breath away. As I explored the Kokiri Forest and entered the first dungeon of the game, Inside The Great Deku Tree, I knew that I was playing something incredibly special, though I didn’t realize how special until I reached the end of the game.

The dungeon climaxed with a final battle against classic Zelda boss Queen Gohma, who is depicted here in magnificent form by CaptainNutmeg of DeviantArt in this portrait entitled “QueenGohma“. This piece captures the disparity in size between Link and Queen Gohma perfectly, with the coloring giving the painting a timeless feel. Little did I know that I had just embarked on a gaming experience that would influence me in such a profound way that it would change the course of my life forever.

Facing off against a massive boss for the first time in a 3D Zelda game was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I will always cherish, which is why today “QueenGohma” by CaptainNutmeg is my pick for Fanart Friday.

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

